How the Vindictive Obama administration really Cares about Kids.

9 Responses

  1. Three important things that Christie said stand out:

    1. “Does anyone (in Washington) have a lick of sense?”
    2. “Are you (officials in the Obama administration) checking off boxes like mindless drones?”
    3. “I take full responsibility”…..and “I am not going to allow someone to be scapegoated over this…”.

    I am glad that Christie hefted the application on the podium for all to see. The amount of mindless paperwork with all the useless stuff that has to be filled out in educationalese (which is worse than legalese, believe me) is ridiculous. My school is getting ready to once again go through the accreditation process – an every five year affair which is expensive, time-consuming, and large parts of it are of dubious value. One needs a dictionary to figure out what is being asked and the terms that are used change every five years as well. (Just one example – nowhere will you ever se the word student. Rather a student is a stakeholder). That a paper could be misfiled AND that even with close checking it would not be discovered does not surprise me. I agree with Christie, a person of common sense would pick up the phone. It occurs to me that the failure of the government functionary to do so (most probably an administration political appointee) was instructed (or took it upon him/herself) to look for any reason at all to disqualify NJ because Christie had the temerity to win the governorship instead of his Democrat rival.

    2. As far as statement #2 is concerned, why should a government official, who is being paid handsomely, do much if anything other than the bare minimum? Why could they not take the figures from the State Superintendent and then run a fact check? Laziness or else there was a directive to look for reasons to disqualify.

    3. Christie was right – as governor the buck stops with him. He was forthright, did not pussyfoot around the issue. He has my admiration. I will continue to follow hiw career closely….perhaps, in TMOG (the man of girth) we have a potential candidate who can stand up and make a difference.

  2. I have a dream. Someday, some governor will stand before the cameras, lay out a story at least as demoralizing as Christie’s, remind his audience that such humiliation could not have occurred before the states allowed the feds to intrude themselves into what for most of American history had been the prerogative of local jurisdictions, concede that the prospect of federal funds had made of the states little more than supplicants, and then–slamming that thick binder to the floor–announce that henceforth HIS state would go it alone and would challenge any effort on the part of the feds to dictate how its children were to be schooled or evaluated.

    I said it was a dream.*

    *Hillsdale College of Michigan is not a dream. From its website: “Hillsdale’s educational mission rests upon two principles: academic excellence and institutional independence. The College does not accept federal or state taxpayer subsidies for any of its operations.”

  3. I like your dream, Benny. But, be cautious, my friend. I said something similar at a dinner party once and the comments were received as if I were asserting that I saw Elvis at our Walmart.

    Bye the Bye…when I was about ten years old, I loved Frankie Avalon with a love that wouldn’t die…but this Chris Christie thing for me…is much more intense.

    • “Bye the Bye…when I was about ten years old, I loved Frankie Avalon with a love that wouldn’t die…but this Chris Christie thing for me…is much more intense.”

      You are a complete piece of work!

      Have I ever mentioned that my mother and her sisters used to babysit Annette Funicello before the Funicellos moved from Utica, NY, to southern California?

  4. Hruumph!

    I never understood what Frankie saw in her.

    Oh wait…ummm…never-mind.

    • Benny’s parallelism: “This Chris Christie thing for me…is much more intense” than the crush I had on Annette–from which, I’m afraid to say, you may safely infer that my youthful heart never once skipped a beat at the sight of her.

  5. I have long been a firm believer in your sense of discernment and good taste..in literature, politics, and in all worldly things.

    I’m glad you cleared this up about Annette.

  6. Update:

    http://cityroom.blogs.nytimes.com/2010/08/27/christie-fires-education-commissioner/?hp

    But federal officials released a video on Thursday showing that Mr. Schundler and his administration had not provided the information when asked. Mr. Christie, asked later Thursday about the videotape in a radio interview, said he would be seriously disappointed if it turned out he had been misled.

    That same evening, the governor’s chief of staff, Richard H. Bagger, called Mr. Schundler to ask for his resignation, Mr. Schundler said in an interview.

    Mr. Schundler said he told Mr. Bagger that he was willing to resign. “I said I know that I serve at the will of the governor, so if he would like me to leave I would leave,” he said.

    But on Friday morning, Mr. Schundler said, he asked Mr. Bagger if he could instead be fired, citing his need for the unemployment benefits.

    “I thought we were a very good team,” Mr. Schundler said. “I thought we worked together and that we made a very good start. And I’m disappointed.”

    In a statement, the governor said he “was extremely disappointed to learn that the videotape of the Race to the Top presentation was not consistent with the information provided to me by the New Jersey Department of Education and which I then conveyed to the people of New Jersey.”

    “As a result, I ordered an end to Bret Schundler’s service as New Jersey’s education commissioner and as a member of my administration.

    “As I have said before, I never promised the people of New Jersey that this would be a mistake-free administration,” the governor continued. “However, I did promise that the people serving in my administration would be held accountable for their actions. As I said on Wednesday, I am accountable for what occurs in my administration. I regret this mistake was made and will do all I can to have my administration avoid them in the future.”

    I love this guy.

    • Every year I can count on some university president to bemoan the ranking given his school in the latest “Best Colleges” story in “U. S. News and World Report.” I cannot recall ever seeing a complaint from the head honcho of any college whose ranking improved from the previous year. Complaints typically elaborate reasons, many of them quite persuasive, why rankings must be arbitrary to an extent that renders them bogus. The question I cannot avoid asking is, “Why, then, President Chips, do you allow your underlings to provide “U. S. News” the data that fuel misleading and inappropriate comparisons?”

      A question for Governor Christie: “Would you have spoken out against the thousand-page application and the federal bureaucracy had New Jersey won the $400-million grant?” And another: “Regardless of who botched the application, are you straining at the bureaucratic gnat when you (and so many others) have already swallowed the philosophic camel?”

      I happily acknowledge that my own take on the fiasco will strike many as hopelessly out of sync with a world apparently inured to gigantism in government.

      A sidebar: What is there about these “promising” Republicans that so predictably and quickly finds them downshifting from overdrive into damage control?

Leave a Reply

